This project is read-only.

Problems getting started

Apr 4, 2014 at 4:09 PM
Edited Apr 4, 2014 at 5:56 PM
When I open the StudioShell window, I see:
Import-Module : The given assembly name or codebase was invalid. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131047)
At C:\Program Files (x86)\Code Owls LLC\StudioShell\bin\Scripts\start-studioShell.ps1:21 char:14
  • import-module <<<< studioshell;
    • CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Import-Module], FileLoadException
    • FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.IO.FileLoadException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.ImportModuleCommand
And then a bunch more errors, but I suspect that's the root problem. I am a noob to powershell, having just watched your most excellend pluralsight video! :) Thanks!

UPDATE:
I also want to mention that I initially installed the msi, and then the nuget, and then uninstalled the nuget, and uninstalled the msi and then reinstalled the msi. Maybe not exactly in that order but I did a lot of uninstalls/reinstalls ideally ending up without the nuget bits and with the msi bits.

Also, I have powershell 2 and not 3 or 4.
Apr 7, 2014 at 2:41 PM
Thanks for this - I've verified framework version of this release is 3.5, which is correct. Do you have .NET 3.5 installed?
Apr 7, 2014 at 3:18 PM
Yes, I have 3.5 and 4.5.
Also I have Windows 7 Pro.
Apr 7, 2014 at 10:24 PM
is your OS 64 bit?
Apr 7, 2014 at 10:49 PM
Yes it is.

One detail that may or may not be interesting is that I typically work under a non-admin user on my machine. I just noticed that when I run VS 2013 as an admin, I don't see the StudioShell extension at all (i.e. I only see it when running as non-admin).
Apr 23, 2014 at 12:32 PM